Caitlin Clark gets another one over Angel Reese in the middle of March Madness

Angel Reese didn’t make the cut for the Women’s College Player of the Year Finalists.

Caitlin Clark of Iowa stands out among the finalists for the Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year award.

Joining her in contention are Cameron Brink from Stanford, Paige Bueckers from UConn, and JuJu Watkins from USC. However, Clark’s triumph seems almost inevitable given her extraordinary season.

Caitlin Clark

Caitlin Clark proclaims women’s NCAA tournament is more exciting than men’s

As a senior, she leads Division I in both points (31.8) and assists (8.9), solidifying her place in NCAA history.

In February, she surpassed Kelsey Plum to become the all-time leading scorer in Division I women’s basketball, and shortly after, she surpassed Pete Maravich to claim the career scoring record across both men’s and women’s games.

While the final assessment of Clark’s achievements awaits the conclusion of the 2024 NCAA tournament, there is no denying her electrifying impact on college basketball.

With her remarkable individual performance and instrumental role in Iowa’s successes, including 29 wins and a Big Ten tournament title, Clark is poised to sweep major player of the year awards.

Who is Clark up against?

Assuming Clark takes the crown, attention may soon shift to Watkins. The freshman sensation made an immediate impact during the 2023-24 season, captivating audiences with her stellar performances.

Setting records at USC and maintaining an impressive scoring streak, Watkins has positioned herself as a frontrunner for future accolades, offering Trojans fans hope for a return to the Final Four.

Angel Reese was initially in the running for the award after a stellar start to the season, but her hype has fallen off somewhat and she didn’t even make the top-10 shortlist for the award.

G Fiume/Getty Images

Paige Bueckers, the 2021 Naismith winner, returned to form after overcoming injuries, showcasing her offensive prowess for UConn in the 2023-24 season.

Despite her injury setbacks, she continues to excel, contributing significantly to her team’s success.

Meanwhile, Cameron Brink of Stanford has also demonstrated remarkable skill and consistency, earning recognition for her offensive and defensive contributions. With her impressive stats and impact on Stanford’s performance, Brink emerged as a standout player in the Pac-12 conference.

As the competition heats up among these exceptional athletes, the Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year award remains highly anticipated, reflecting the talent and dedication of these top contenders.

Related Posts

Our Privacy policy - © 2024 News